Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Best radial match for 6.50-16 LT tire is...?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wheels / Tires: Best radial match for 6.50-16 LT tire is...?

Hi again Guys,

What is the 'best'/ recommended radial tire size match for a 6.50 - 16 LT tire? I understand that changing to a radial tire will help smooth out the ride. I've already replaced the shocks and some front end parts. Thanks for your replies.

Mark in OhioClick image for larger version

Name:	Paint job1.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	122.1 KB
ID:	1760027

Hi Mark.
    I think the size of a 6.50x16 is 6.5" width and 80% aspect ratio of 5.2"giving an overall diameter of 26.4". The metric size would be 165/80x16. I don't know if you can get them but 175/75/16 may be a better choice? I can't help but think a radial will have a smaller looking sidewall than an old crossply??? I'm not a tyre expert so hopefully someone else will be around to help
    The funniest thing about this signature is by the time you realise it says nothing important, it's too late to stop reading it.

Comment

I put 195/75/16s on my Champ truck. They are just right. Fit right on my original rims.
      Ed Sallia
      Dundee, OR

Sol Lucet Omnibus

Comment

Just measure the Diameter of your current Tires and get the Radial that most closely matches.
        Then you will have the best "Look" and closest Speedometer reading.
        StudeRich
        Second Generation Stude Driver,
        Proud '54 Starliner Owner

Comment

Originally posted by StudeRich View Post
          Just measure the Diameter of your current Tires and get the Radial that most closely matches.
          Then you will have the best "Look" and closest Speedometer reading.
          Assuming the current tires are correct.
          The ones I put on my truck most closely matched the size/dimensions of the tires that came on the truck originally. The ones I replaced were not even close.
          Ed Sallia
          Dundee, OR