Announcement

Collapse

Get more Tips, Specs and Technical Data!

Did you know... this Forum is a service of the Studebaker Drivers Club? For more technical tips, specifications, history and tech data, visit the Tech Tips page at the SDC Homepage: www.studebakerdriversclub.com/tips.asp
See more
See less

59 Silver Hawk power brake information sought by non-mechanical type

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brakes: 59 Silver Hawk power brake information sought by non-mechanical type

Hi Everyone.

As the title of this thread suggests, I am a novice when it comes to mechanical aspects of our beautiful rides. So I am here to ask some for some help with the brake system used in the 1959 Silver Hawk I own, but have not put on the road, as the power brakes do bot seem to be working.

CURRENT STATUS
    I do have basic brakes, but they are very "stiff" and do not offer the quick stop one would expect.
    They are not "spongy" and need to be pumped, but rather, are "stiff", if that helps explain the concern.
    I've attached photos of what I believe is the brake booster...

QUESTIONS/CONCERNS
    I have been told that mine is a Bendix, but of course I don't know if that is right and would love anyone who knows to give me a low-down on the system and what the problem here could be.

Is it correct that it is likely that the booster is the cause of the problem and that it needs to be taken out, sent somewhere (any suggestions?) to be rebuilt, then re-installed?

I have heard that people sometimes take these out and use newer boosters for more reliability? If so I would not mind doing this to avoid the delay on the rebuild, keeping the original part should a future owner wish to keep it stock.

THANKS
    If anyone has some suggestions for someone who is not a gearhead, and who is out in the country without access to mechanics well versed in our older rides, I would REALLY APPRECIATE IT.

Click image for larger version

Name:	x break booster1.jpg
Views:	1