Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Electrical: Blinker - no blink

Hi Guys,

I'm having a curious problem with the turn signals on my 1951 2R5 pickup. The left turn signal works fine but the light on the right rear bulb only glows dimly while the right front turn signal does nothing. I replaced the bulb in the right front so it's brand new.

What suggestions do you guys have for troubleshooting this? I'm by no means an electrician and the thought of 6 volts running through me, uh... I guess that's not much voltage, is it.

Where do I begin to fix this problem?

Enjoy the photos~

Thanks

Mark in Ohio
    Attached Files

nkibler;
    You have not given enough information for for me to be of much help.
    Did the directional just stop working or has it never worked.
    If you have a volt meter or a test light there are a few things you can test.
    Without either of those the best you can do is make sure the bulb sockets are in good condition and clean of all corrosion. Then unbolt the directionals from their mounting and make sure all the areas around the bolts are free of corrosion. The bolts and the vehicle chassis serves as the return wire to the battery, for the electricity.

Ron

Comment

If one side works and the other doesn't ,it is a bad wire or more likely a ground fault. Start with removing and cleaning the turn sig lamp and run a wire from lamp body to the frame. Be sure connections are clean. This will probably work but if it does not its a corroded wire. You either have to trace the wire or simply run a new one. You MUST have a wiring diagram.

Comment

Did all else work well before you replaced the right front bulb? Check that the bulb is correctly inserted.

Comment