• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seat belt installation in a 5H-K5

Kindest regards,

Alan Mende
    Grantville, PA

I'm not a mechanic; I don't even play one on TV.

The torque boxes on my 55 Speedster are from CE but I had the same problem. I cut a small (1 x 3 in) access hole in the bottom of the torque box and then fabricated a patch to cover the hole.

34 STUDEBAKER STREET ROD
    55 SPEEDSTER (in work)
    63 R2 LARK (in work)
    85 AVANTI (9K miles)

34 Studebaker Street Rod (completed)
    55 Speedster (in work)
    63 Lark R2 (completed, 63K miles)
    64 Daytona CNV (completed, 63K miles)
    64 Avanti R2 (completed)
    85 Avanti(blackout trim, 10K miles)
    89 Avanti CNV (19K miles)

Comment

cut a hole in the bottom of the torque box with a hole saw, and use a rubber plug to fill the hole if it really bothers you.

nate

--
      55 Commander Starlight
      http://members.cox.net/njnagel
      --
      55 Commander Starlight
      http://members.cox.net/njnagel

Comment

quote:Originally posted by alanmende
        it doesn�t seem right to just drill through the floor and torque boxes and just use real long bolts with large washers.
        I used long bolts and drilled through both the floor and the torque box. They don't have to be REAL long bolts. You'll have to use special, large seat belt washers no matter which way you do it. What doesn't seem right about that method? Seems to me it gives the same results and would be easier.

Dick Steinkamp
        Bellingham, WA

Comment

Hi Dick,

Seems that just drilling holes in both the floor and torque box and then tightening the fastener will pull the two together.

Alan
          Kindest regards,

Alan Mende
          Grantville, PA

Comment