Announcement

Collapse

Get more Tips, Specs and Technical Data!

Did you know... this Forum is a service of the Studebaker Drivers Club? For more technical tips, specifications, history and tech data, visit the Tech Tips page at the SDC Homepage: www.studebakerdriversclub.com/tips.asp
See more
See less

'63 lark clutch replacement

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clutch/Torque Converter: '63 lark clutch replacement

I am new to Studebakers, and need some advice please. I just purchased a '63 Lark "6" with O.D., needs a clutch presure plate throw out bearing. also the starter needs help, does not engage at times. Main issue, How difficult is it to get the clutch parts and a rebuilt starter. This car has been unused for quite some time and needs a lot of TLC, has around 55,000 miles on it sounds really strong. Probably will need to replace the fue pump while I am at it. Also, How difficult of a job is replacing the clutch in these cars? Any sujjestions and or help will be appreciated, thanks, Arnie.

I did this fairly recently on a 62 Lark Six, it's not bad. Remove driveshaft from back of transmission, remove shift linkage, clutch release, cables, wiring etc. for OD, then remove the four bolts from from the transmission to bellhousing. You will need to support the engine on the back, as the rear mounts are part of the bell housing and the transmission sort of just hangs there. Then you need to go all the way around and remove the bellhousing and such. Not really different than any other car.

Parts are available from Studebaker International, Studebakers West (in California), eBay and many other sources. I found the pressure plate on mine being in good shape after 85,000 miles, so I reused it.

Good luck!

Comment