Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: 55 Commander - Head Removal

Hello all,

After two weeks of failed attempts at removing a broken bolt from the passenger side cylinder head by flux welding a nut and washer & nut... I am putting down the welding gun. I was not able to get a good weld strong enough to get any movement on the nut, and in my last attempt, took a chip off the head off as well.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5340.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	82.8 KB
ID:	1753153 Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5516.jpg
Size:	52.8 KB
ID:	1753151 Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5500.jpg
Size:	62.5 KB
ID:	1753152

I've resigned to the fact that I will need to remove the head to access this broken bolt and drill it out. This seems like a daunting task to me as I have never done anything like this before. Looking at the setup, I think I will need to remove the carburetor (might as well rebuild), then remove the intake manifold, then valve cover, then remove rocker arm assembly.

Name:	IMG_5117.jpg
Size:	87.3 KB
ID:	1753154

Any helpful hints would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

When you get the head off, take it to an automotive machine shop and have them drill it out and clean up the threads. BTDT...

Comment

Do you have a shop manual? Reprints are obtainable from vendors, and the procedures for this job are easily followed in that book. Yes, the intake manifold comes off, then each head. Take lots of pix before taking on this job, so you remember where things bolt on etc.!

Comment

It could have helped if you had removed the Head bolt that the Exhaust Manifold Bolt runs into.
        Then you could get some PB Blaster, Kroil or other Penetrating Oil or Rust Buster into the Threads of the Exhaust Manifold Bolt Hole to help loosen it.