June TW!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• June TW!!

Very nice picture of a Golden Hawk on the front cover and a clutch of good looking white Daytona`s on the inside one belonging to Bob

Have often wondered why they stuck the front marker light on top of the hawks fender.
    Seems like an after thought to me
    Geoff

Is it a Golden Hawk? The side grills are GH but the hood is
    a Silver Hawk.

Comment

Originally posted by paul shuffleburg View Post
      a Silver Hawk.
      I have no knowledge of Hawks Golden or otherwise but since owning a Studebaker it`s made me more interested in the other marks from my 50/51 Starlight.
      The 59/60 hawk especially just a pity that the features I like are not on one they produced !!
      Namely a piller-less hard top with the rear fins that didn`t have the fender mounted marker-lights !
      Geoff

Comment

Originally posted by paul shuffleburg View Post
        a Silver Hawk.
        Good observation. I just received my TW, so I took a look. I agree that it does not have a 1957 Golden Hawk hood. The first thing that I noticed is that it does not have the front bumperettes/guards that would be standard equipment on a 1957 Golden Hawk. I wonder if the car has a supercharger and if it does, how did they get it to fit. There were 1957 Silver Hawk hardtops, but I believe that they were all for outside the USA and of course, they would not have the halo trim.
        Gary L.
        Wappinger, NY

SDC member since 1968
        Studebaker enthusiast much longer

Comment

It's been said that if you use the lower-profile Avanti R3 front motor mounts on a '57/'58 Golden Hawk, you can get the engine low enough in the chassis to clear the underside of a standard hood. I have no personal knowledge of that, or experience, however. BP
          We've got to quit saying, "How stupid can you be?" Too many people are taking it as a challenge.

Ayn Rand: