Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trunk mat for 1954 Commander Starliner hardtop needed

Hello everyone,

I'm preparing our 1954 Commander Starliner hardtop (AKA Grace) for the AACA Grand National Meet in Williamsport, PA June 2-June 4, 2016. I desperately need a trunk mat for our car. Original or good reproduction. Heck, if you'd let me borrow yours for the meet, that would be fine. Please contact me off list.

PA211797.jpg
    Kindest regards,

Alan Mende
    Grantville, PA

I'm not a mechanic; I don't even play one on TV.

studebaker international

Comment

For the trunk mat your looking for, it's best to contact Rene Harger.

Comment

The repops just don't look as good as the originals imo. I saw a NOS one at York a few years ago but it was in the original package and couldn't be unrolled due to the brittleness. I hope you do find an original.

Comment

I believe the correct woven Bertec (Straw Type) are available from SouthEast Studebaker. Vinyl is incorrect for 1954.
          StudeRich
          Second Generation Stude Driver,
          Proud '54 Starliner Owner

Comment

As I believe that you know, the correct trunk mat is fiber. I had five or six, but I am now sold out.

For AACA judging, you could probably get away with the later vinyl type. I do not believe that you will come across an AACA judge who will know which is correct. As long as the mat looks like new and period (do not use a tire cover), I doubt that you would get dinged for it in AACA judging (of course you would in SDC judging, especially if I was doing the authenticity <G>) [I do not guarantee the AACA part. You may get that one judge that knows the difference and what should be there.]

As has been stated, Rene is your best shot for the correct one.
            Gary L.
            Wappinger, NY

SDC member since 1968
            Studebaker enthusiast much longer

Comment

Originally posted by StudeRich View Post