Studebaker Repair Lesson

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Studebaker Repair Lesson

Here is one for the books. Next time your Studebaker developes a funny noise keep this in mind. It might not be anything you thought it was. I have been wrenching on Studebakers on and off for 50 years (I built my first engine a 299 V8 when I was 10 years old, with dads oversight of course) and this one stumpted me for two days. I drove the Studebaker Camper on Thursday morning and all was fine. That afternoon I went to go for a short trip and during the drive the engine developed a loud squeeking noise that changed with engine load. It sounded like a slipping belt so I drove it home. After checking the belt for tightness I took it off and the noise was still there. So I got out my stethoscope and starting trying to track down the noise. Here is a video of the noise:

As you can hear it is a very sharp sound that changed with engine speed ect. I thought it might be a dry rocker arm as it sounded like a metal to metal sound. So I removed the rocker covers and checked everything in there and since I was in there I adjusted the lash. It was clear the problem was not is there. At one point I had my wife come out and listen to it as she has much better hearing than I do since my radiation treatments have caused severe hearing loss. She said it sounds like a slipping fan belt. I told her I thought it sounded like a reed instrument, like a gasket vibrating and making a whistling sound. So I checked the carb gasket with the stethoscope and then removed the carb to be sure. All looked good, so now where? I concluded that although I could not narrow it down to any one cylinder I thought it might be a wrist pin had come loose and was rubbing the cylinder wall.