New guy on block

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New guy on block

Just a friendly hello and to introduce myself. Name is Rick and I just pulled a 57 Golden Hawk out of a barn. Motor seems to be stuck and was wondering if soomeone had a suggestion. I removed plugs and squirted WD40 in cylinders but nothing yet. Also this 57 Golden Hawk does not have fins and has 56 Taillights. Numbers on cowl are 57H-K7 which I think 57 is for 57 and the H stands for Golden Hawk?? Is the K-7 the production date??? It does have a supercharged motor but like I said I'm new to Studebakers and donyt know if or where the motor ID numbers would be to look up. I have restored many cars in my day so I'm familiar with the terminology. If anyone can be of help I would appreciate it. I'm trrying to set up a appoitment with the Studebaker Museum in South Bend cause I live within 45 minutes of the place and I hope to gain some knowledge and literature from them. I do not have a clue on removing the trim on this thing and was wondering if there is
    a site on here that will help me better understand. I have a 57 Chevy and have been on their site that had great info. I will try to post a picture soon Thanks Rick
    Attached Files

Welcome Rick!

Someone did away with the fins on your find. 57H indicates a '57 H-series (President) series car -in other words a 57 with a 289cu.in. engine. The K is for a pillarless coupe (as opposed to a C-bodied coupe) The 7 denotes Golden Hawk. The engine number is just to the left front of the lifter valley cover. Should start with a PS for 289 Supercharged.
    A stuck engine is a stuck engine. There's no "tricks" for a Studebaker edition!
    No deceptive flags to prove I'm patriotic - no biblical BS to impress - just ME and Studebakers - as it should be.

Comment

A -57 G.H. without fins... man couldn't THAT be something special?
      If it would've been like some super-early-almost56-thing?
      Guess not thou...