Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie here... building a 46 M-5 into an old school hot rod roadster pick up...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie here... building a 46 M-5 into an old school hot rod roadster pick up...

1st off... Hi... I'm Magnum... gotta love the orphans... I have a survivor 38 Nash Lafayette trunkback sedan, that I'm keeping as original "looking" as possible, & I love cruising in, but I'm one of those guys that everything I own is custom, so the Studie, is getting the treatment... my goal of this build, will be a hot rod "as could have been built on the farm, pre 64...

The truck belonged to my FIL, who restored all his cars & trucks original, the original lil 6 had been hopelessly stuck for a couple years before he got it, & after unsuccessfully going through the normal cure alls for unsticking a motor, it got dragged to the pasture, where it sat for another 20 years, until I dragged it up to the drive way this summer

I found a Studebaker sweepstakes 289 & 3 speed overdrive ( supposedly a good runner from a 58 Silver Hawk ), & have the truck now stripped to the frame for alterations... I'm trying to keep as much Studie personality as possible I've picked up a set of Studebaker script dog dishes that will ride on new steel wheels... I'll be running 6" steel wheels in front, & 10" wide in the rear

the motor has a 2 barrel, & I just bought an original cast iron 4 barrel manifold, likely will stick a Carter back on it, but am open there yet

what I'd really like to find, is a set of headers... I'm prepared to build my own if needed, but would really like to find a set of late 50's or early 60's pipes... any suggestions ???