Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Preping Early For Road Trip and Found...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Preping Early For Road Trip and Found...

I am beginning to prep for the trip to Rutland here's some thoughts:
    • I found a large chunk of hood insulation in the air cleaner (caught by filter but there).
    • Remember to greese the U Joints
    • Remember the oil hole UNDER the distributor and the oil tubes on the distributor and generator.
    • Air in the spare
    There are a million things to check and I'm no expert just passing some thoughts on stuff I forget. Oh yeah make a checklist.

Fire extinguisher in the trunk.
    Extra oil
    Water
    Check the condition of the fan belt.

Comment

Good safe Jack and maybe a couple of spare tires or a can of fix-a-flat, extra alternator or generator, maybe even a water pump, points, condenser.
      101st Airborne Div. 326 Engineers Ft Campbell Ky.

Comment

With the exception of a spare starter, everything you need to get around the "I don't wanna be crying on the counter at some local auto parts place" baloney, will fit in a good-sized shoebox. And that includes the tools to replace the spares if needed.
        No deceptive flags to prove I'm patriotic - no biblical BS to impress - just ME and Studebakers - as it should be.

Comment

Is that a box for Shaquille O'neill's shoes Bob?
          I agree though, some of you folks are a bit anal about what to take...a couple of spare tires? There are tires stores out on the hiway, the one spare in the car is enough.
          Bailing wire, duct tape, 7/16-1/2-9/16" wrenches, straight n phillips screw driver, and a 0.025" feeler gauge blade. Maybe, I mean maybe, a set of points and condenser, and that is only if you have not replaced them recently.