1963 Lark Wagonaire auto shop project

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1963 Lark Wagonaire auto shop project

I'm new to the forum, kicking off my first thread...

I "teach" an auto shop class for Seattle Lutheran High School and our project this year is a 1963 Lark Wagonaire. I'm new to Studebakers, so I thought I'd document the build here to get feedback and advice from the experts.

About the class:
    This is an all-volunteer funded and taught class for Seattle Lutheran High School in West Seattle Washington.

The class meets every other Sunday afternoon from 1-4pm, for a total of 18 class sessions over the course of the school year and for this effort the students will earn an elective credit.

I limit the class to four students and as of right now we have a full group of guys.

I am not a professional mechanic and don't claim to be teaching a real auto tech class - it's just me and a couple volunteers who are all car guys getting to share our love of old cars with some kids who might not otherwise have the opportunity to get their hands greasy.

The car
    My dad had the car around for a year or so and decided he needed the space more than he needed another project, so he donated it to the class. Lucky for us, he started collecting parts for it, so we've got a lot of what we need to get it fixed up.

Here's what the car looked like when we got it a couple weeks ago:

The car actually runs pretty good, so our priorities are brakes, suspension rebuild, and floor repair so that we can get the car on the road. Then we'll figure out what we're going to do to the body and interior.

I've got a bunch of extra parts from a '64 wagon, so I'll probably be asking lots of questions about what parts might be worth money and what I should do with them.
    Last edited by olivepick; 10-09-2011, 09:24 PM.

Session 1