Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Most ridiculous thing you'll see all day. Sunbeam towing Avanti.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Most ridiculous thing you'll see all day. Sunbeam towing Avanti.

In case the video doesn't work. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z99ouA0B65Y

Kind of like the tail wagging the dog! I saw this setup in Lancaster, same person I think. I don't know how he gets away with it but he does.
    Frank van Doorn
    Omaha, Ne.
    1962 GT Hawk 289 4 speed
    1941 Champion streetrod, R-2 Powered, GM 200-4R trans.
    1952 V-8 232 Commander State "Starliner" hardtop OD

Comment

The Sunbeam has the power its used a Ford 260 V8, later a Chrylser V8 (Sunbeam II). I might worry about braking power as the Sunbeam is not very heavy.
      sigpic
      55 President Deluxe
      64 Commander
      66 Cruiser

37 Oldsmobile F37 4 Door

Comment

I'm no expert but I can't believe that could be legal, is it? Looks like way too much of a load to be towing.

Comment

Yep, same guy. That's Tom Ehrhardt's rig. He volunteers at the AACA Museum, and the video was shot as Jim McCuan and I were following him from a British car show in Hershey to the Museum. It was rather comical to be behind him and not see a tow vehicle in front of the Avanti..

Tom knows what he's doing. The car does have the Ford 260 and it is pretty fast. He was telling us how he has it all set up, and it's about as nice and overbuilt as you could imagine. For stopping he said a loaded car with the trailer brakes stops better than just the Tiger by itself without a trailer.
          Last edited by mbstude; 07-24-2011, 01:24 PM.

Comment

Very cool..... He can just drive it into my long driveway and leave the whole thing there.
            Jon Stalnaker
            Karel Staple Chapter SDC

Comment

Originally posted by Sdude View Post
              Very cool..... He can just drive it into my long driveway and leave the whole thing there.