X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Writer Needs Help

Hello,

I am an as-yet unpublished writer working on a novel with a character who is repairing a Lark (probably a 1960). I know nothing about repairing and restoring, and I would be very grateful for any guidance and wisdom you folks could offer.

The Lark has been sitting in a barn in Massachusetts since 1965. While wasps have made nests inside it, it has otherwise been pretty much protected from the elements of nature. My character just wants to get it up and running so he can drive it around town--it doesn't have to be fully restored, just driveable at this point. What do you think he would need to do to get it going? What would be the biggest challenge? How long would it take to get it on the road? What might go wrong once it's on the road?

If anyone has pictures of an early 1960s Lark, I'd love to see them, especially the interior so I can get a sense of what it would be like to sit in the front seat.

Any help you can send my way is much appreciated and if you know of any books on repairing mid-century Studebakers, that would be great too!

Thanks so much

Having done a bunch of barn car, here some normal issues.

Rebuild the brake system with all new rubber hoses, rebuild the master and wheel cylinder. Drop and clean the ryst out of the gas tank, rebuild the car and fuel pump. Add new plugs, points and condensor and battery. Change all fluids. Add oil to all the cylinder and spin the engine over.Change belts and hoses, replace dry rotted tires.

Once you get it running and driving see what else shows up. Not unusual to have to lube the window regulators, maybe clean a few switches, maybe rebuild the wiper motor.

Here's a 61 Lark (pretty much a plain Jane)

Studebaker On The Net http://stude.com
    64 GT Hawk
    64 R2 4 speed Challenger
    63 R2 4 speed GT Hawk
    63 Daytona Convert.
    53 Street rod
    JDP Maryland

Comment