This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Numbers Matching M5?

Hi everyone...I'm new to the Studebaker and trying to help a friend decipher if his 1946 Studebaker M-5 pickup has matching engine/chassis numbers.

Not sure if anyone here can help...but it would be greatly appreciated if anyone has suggestions or pointers on how to confirm this information. His M-5 has an 6cyl which appears to be original. He also has a spare motor that is exactly the same (so have 2 motors). We're not sure which of the two is the original to the vehicle (if either).

I tried to find what numbers I could and found the following:

1. Numbers on the engine that is in the truck: 199697 then just under that number: 2S Then there is a plate under the "2S", which reads: Z26 (I'm not positive on the 6 it was hard to make out)

2. Numbers on the reserve motor: 529278 then just under that number: 3 Then the plate under that number: G617

3. On the firewall in the motor compartment (part of the cab): there is a tag with a number: M-5-C2
    Under that tag, there is a number: 6531

4. The M-5 is from the state of Kansas, and he thought he heard a rumor that Kansas applied a unique identifying number to Studebakers which is their version of a VIN (6898).

5. Finally, the insurance papers state the VIN as 1M7695

Thanks for any direction/thoughts you may have!

Max

Max,
    You need to look for a stamped number on the engines , not cast.
    Should be a raised machined pad on the drivers side of the block toward the front. Studebaker used a "I" to represent ones(1) on all their serial #'s(engine and vehicle).
    Sounds like Kansas used the engine serial # for the VIN.
    Probably on the theory that it was easier to change serial # plates than engines.