This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 350 in a 59 lark

I am kinda new to studebaker so please bear with me.I know that the commander came with a small block chevy(more or less),what I need to know is what type of modifications am I going to have to make to fit a 350 in my 59 lark wagon.will standard chevy motor mounts work or is there a conversion kit.I wouldn't be switching but the original block is shot. Thanks for any help you can give

First the 59 Lark did not come with a Chevy small block, more or less, it came with either a Studebaker inline 6 or a V8! It would be far easier to find a used or rebuilt (or rebuild the V8 that is in there) Studebaker V8 than doing a Chevy V8 conversion. There is nothing at all wrong with a Stude V8, you can build them up with speed goodies if power is what you are after, cams, 4bbl manifolds, blowers, etc. are readily available. Besides the Stude V8 has forged rods and crank and can take more punishment than your garden variety SBC Perhaps you should read Ted Harbit's article in the Turning Wheels last year (can't remember the month someone else here might) about blindly doing the SBC thing in a Studebaker. FYI a Studebaker has been blowing the doors off of some pretty big block stuff at the Pure Muscle Car Drags in MI over the last few years, that includes SBC, BBC, Pontiacs, Hemi's, etc.

Yes you can do the conversion but it will cost you probably less to put in another Stude V8. Besides it is far more interesting at a car show to have something unique in your ride than a SBC which everyone seems to have these days. Do a little reading before you make this plunge. Enough of my sermon.

Dan White
    64 R1 GT
    64 R2 GT
    Dan White
    64 R1 GT
    64 R2 GT
    58 C Cab
    57 Broadmoor (Marvin)

Comment