Where did these emblems come from?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where did these emblems come from?

I recently purchased my first Studebaker, and I'm almost certain there are three emblems on my car that shouldn't be there. Being a Stude novice, I can't immediately identify them, and searching parts vendors on the web hasn't helped either. I think maybe the previous owner just like the way they looked, and put them on the car. A huge tub of parts came with the car, and I found a box that held what look like three radio-delete plates...and appear to be the source of the emblems. I have a '55 Commander 4-door... What are these, and where should they be?

I believe those emblems designate a Canadian built Studebaker.

Bob Miles
    I have seen those before

Comment

Hmmm... If true, the mystery deepens! This car was actually completed in California, sold new in Oregon...and then made its way back to the Midwest. I don't think its build-history ever included Canada.

Comment

It looks like the radio delete plates (as we call them these days) are the source of the extra emblems on your car, as you have already stated.

Previous owners do all sorts of things to cars that leave us scratching our heads from time to time. Hopefully that is the extent of the strange things they have done, but don't count on it.
        RadioRoy, specializing in AM/FM conversions with auxiliary inputs for iPod/satellite/CD player. In the old car radio business since 1985.

10G-C1 - 51 Champion starlight coupe
        4H-K5 - 53 Commander starliner hardtop
        5H-D5 - 54 Commander Conestoga wagon

Comment

Anybody have an idea what model/year the blanking-plates fit? Not even the colors seem like a '55 anything.

Comment

Definitely not only from Canadian Studebakers . I think there was a crown like that on ‘52 Champion glove box doors .
            sigpic

Home of the Fried Green Tomato

"IF YOU WANT THE SMILES YOU NEED TO DO THE MILES "