Identify V8 Engine in 1953 Commander

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Identify V8 Engine in 1953 Commander

Hello all, I'm new to Studebakers. I just got a 1953 Commander and am trying to identify the engine. I went to the link Studebaker V8 engine identification (http://www.studebakerdriversclub.com/V8EngineID.asp) but that doesn't seem to match exactly what I have. I have no idea if the engine is original. What I see is on the left, the numbers V320I80 and on the right a casting which has the number 4 and below it the numbers 535601. Any ideas? Thanks

Those are STARTING engine numbers in the table. Your engine is a 224 from a 1955 Commander.
    Skip Lackie

Comment

Welcome to the SDC and to the SDC Forum John!

What Transmission is behind your '55 Commander "224" Engine in a '53?
      I am thinking that one of the most common replacements for the original 232 V8, MIGHT have been, the whole '55 Engine and Trans. Combination: Detroit Gear DG-250M Automatic, 3 Speed Manual or 3 Speed Overdrive.

Is it a Commander Coupe, Hardtop, or Sedan ?
      Last edited by StudeRich; 08-13-2020, 02:52 PM.
      StudeRich
      Second Generation Stude Driver,
      Proud '54 Starliner Owner

Comment

OK now I see how the chart for engines works, thanks for explaining. Re the transmission, it is a 3 speed manual on the column with the handle below the dash for OD. Does that answer the question about what type of transmission it is?

I haven't tried the OD yet to see if it works. Any suggestions on any things I ought to check before I do? Thanks

Comment

Forgot to mention that it is a Starliner (without the B pillar.)

Comment

Originally posted by JohnFrater View Post
            OK now I see how the chart for engines works, thanks for explaining. Re the transmission, it is a 3 speed manual on the column with the handle below the dash for OD. Does that answer the question about what type of transmission it is?