Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Similarities between a 62 GT hawk and a 56 Golden hawk

Hi gang,
    As some of you have read in my first post, im getting a 56 golden hawk to put back together and eventually restore. Im actually getting it tomorrow...pretty exicted, as you can imagine. I'm new to Studes but not to car restoration, mostly been in the British world. Currently finishing up an Austin Healey

​​​​​​There's a 62 gt hawk hawk for sale on the buy/sell area, close by me and reasonably priced. Im wondering how many of the body parts are the same and specifically if the trunk lid is the same (mine is pretty shot).

So, if any of you would care to rattle on about what's the same or what's different, I'd sure appreciate it.

The trunk hood are unique to the 1956 Studebaker Hawk series for one year only. Also the tail light housings are unique to the 1956 Golden Hawk as they have a right side small notice and left side small notch to fit the body with the fin that the Golden Hawk had. Even though the cars have similarities, Studebaker made running changes on the Hawk models from 1956 to 1964 so that even 62 parts are different in some areas between 62 and 64.

The dash, doors, seats, body parts are all different on the 1962, as well as quarter windows, steering wheel. I suppose you could use the quarter panel and front fenders with modification. If it is the car listed in another post, be prepared to spent many many hours taking that car apart because of the rust. If you have the patience and time to completely take that car apart then get it and do it. That car's description is honest and it is a parts car. After it is parted out, you still have to deal with the hulk that is left over for disposal.