Missouri Auto License, sale, safety inspection

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Missouri Auto License, sale, safety inspection

I sold a Studebaker to a gentleman in Missouri - a low mileage 1954 Sedan. It had not run for some time, and the new owner was aware of this and was going have the brakes and motor done.

Apparently, a safety inspection needs to be done before title can be transferred, and of course it needs to run and stop.

Is this true? Normally, title to an "unfit" vehicle can be transferred/ titled in the new owner's name, then restored at leisure. (He is waiting for the restoration shop he has selected to have room.)

I'm no expert, but it would sure seem that the title could be transferred on a vehicle, in any condition, and the safety inspection would be required for registration, to put it on the road. Hopefully some folks from Missouri will chime in with more knowledge.

Comment

Originally posted by tsenecal View Post
      I'm no expert, but it would sure seem that the title could be transferred on a vehicle, in any condition, and the safety inspection would be required for registration, to put it on the road. Hopefully some folks from Missouri will chime in with more knowledge.
      I would think so too...but apparently not.

https://www.dmv.org/mo-missouri/title-transfers.php

"Missouri does require vehicle inspections in order to title all vehicles over 10 years old whenever there is a change of ownership."
      Dick Steinkamp
      Bellingham, WA

Comment

I got a Missouri title for a non runner with no problem.

Comment

Originally posted by tim333 View Post
          I got a Missouri title for a non runner with no problem.
          So you went through an Independent AGENT?
          StudeRich
          Second Generation Stude Driver,
          Proud '54 Starliner Owner

Comment

If you dig further into the link that Dick posted it says that vehicles with historic plates are exempt