Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Production record question

Hello Group,

The following information is from the production record for our car, Grace -- a 1954 Commander Starliner (5H-K5):

Serial No. - 837656I
    Engine No. - V308520
    Body No. - 4325
    Date Written - 05/21/54
    Sales Order No. - SB 6813
    Line No. - 687
    Factory Order No. - 42069
    Ign. Key No. - 045
    Trunk Key No. - 1071
    Final Assy. Date - 06/02/54
    Destination - Los Angeles Calif (Westerlund)
    Ship Via - Cust
    Paint 2519 Azure (sic) Lance
    Trim 8012 Grn 112
    Auto Trans
    White Sidewalls
    Axle ratio 3.54
    Wet Air Cleaner
    AC 2631 Climatizer
    AC 2492 Discs
    AC 2311 Lighter
    Tinted Glass
    Service for retail del. June 13th

Can anyone explain the reference to Westerlund in the destination line, the Trim 8012, and the Ship Via - Cust?

Kindest regards,

Alan Mende
    Hummelstown, PA

I'm not a mechanic; I don't even play one on TV.
    Kindest regards,

Alan Mende
    Grantville, PA

Can't help on the trim, but my guess is that Westerlund was the dealer that sold the car (or maybe the name of the customer) and intended to pick it up at the Los Angeles factory. The clue is the "Service for retail del. June 13th" which means the LA factory was to do the prep work that dealers usually did, in order that the car could be driven away on that date.

Skip Lackie
    Washington DC
    Skip Lackie

Comment

Hi Skip,

Would Studebaker ship a completed car to the Los Angeles factory for the customer to pick up? That might explain the "Ship Via - Cust" line.

Kindest regards,

Alan Mende
      Hummelstown, PA

Kindest regards,

Alan Mende
      Grantville, PA

Comment

Hi Skip,

Would Studebaker ship a completed car to the Los Angeles factory for the customer to pick up? That might explain the "Ship Via - Cust" line.

Kindest regards,

Alan Mende
        Hummelstown, PA

Kindest regards,

Alan Mende
        Grantville, PA

Comment