flight-o-matic rebuild

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• flight-o-matic rebuild

i live in littlerock and am looking for someone within a state or to that could help me in a couple months with a rebuild.

also does anyone know of a good kit to buy? or what all parts i should definatly get. it is out of a 57 silver hawk.
    thanks in advance

Kevin Phillips
    Jacksonville,AR
    57 Silver Hawk
    Kevin Phillips
    Jacksonville,AR

53 commander

Are you going to rebuild it yourself?

Comment

if i can get a little help yes. i have done motors i am sure i can do a tranny just would like to have someone there that has done one to offer advice.

Kevin Phillips
      Jacksonville,AR
      57 Silver Hawk
      Kevin Phillips
      Jacksonville,AR

53 commander

Comment

I'm no expert by any means, but I do know you probably should hold off ordering parts until you get it opened up. Otherwise you'll buy stuff you don't need, and have to order stuff you didn't think you'd need.

[img=left]http://members.cox.net/clarknovak/lark.gif[/img=left]

Clark in San Diego
        '63 F2/Lark Standard
        http://studeblogger.blogspot.com
        www.studebakersandiego.com

Clark in San Diego | '63 Standard (F2) "Barney" | http://studeblogger.blogspot.com

Comment

Kevin,
          First point to establish is why you want to rebuild the auto trans? Does it leak, lack drive,slip or flare,etc ? Certainly, if it is opened up you will need a seal & gasket kit as a mininum, part #6900DH. Then condition of the clutch packs, band wear & condition of white metal bearings need to be established.Feel you will need some guidance by a fellow member with background experience to guide you along the right path so you have control over parts expenses required.

"QUIGLEY DOWN UNDER"
          MELBOURNE.

\"QUIGLEY DOWN UNDER\"
          MELBOURNE.

Comment