No announcement yet.

Returning to Canada with swap parts???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Returning to Canada with swap parts???

I am making my first trip down to the South Bend swap on Friday and just wondering what the process is when returning back across the border into Ontario with a bunch of well aged gems!! I assume no duty as over 50 years old but do we need to provide some sort of cost spent, or receipt for taxing?

Any advice or experiences from fellow Canuks who have previous experience would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
    1955 Champion Deluxe 2dr.

Just be “ fairly “ honest , I’ve been doing this for 35 years and have never paid any tax on stuff for Studebakers
    sigpic

Home of the Fried Green Tomato

"IF YOU WANT THE SMILES YOU NEED TO DO THE MILES "

1960 Champ , 1966 Daytona , 1965 Daytona Wagonaire

Comment

There is no duty applicable. If you were away long enough, and didn't spend too many dollars, the parts may fall under your basic personal exemption. I think it's $800 for seven days away, but have not checked lately. You could go to Canada Customs website. In any case, all you are liable for is the 5% GST, plus any Provincial sales tax that might be applicable. Same as if you had bought the parts in Canada.
      Gord Richmond, within Weasel range of the Alberta Badlands

Comment

https://travel.gc.ca/returning/custo...ons-mini-guide
        Bill Foy
        1000 Islands, Ontario
        1953 Starlight Coupe

Comment

I just returned from 4 months away, and when questioned about the value of the goods we were returning with, I simply answered $2715.00.
          The CBA guard handed back our passports and told us to have a nice day. I hope you have similar success.
          Bill

Comment

Have your parts receipt handy and a list of what is purchased, and then I never had a problem, if your honest with them they can tell and they do appreciate it.
            Evan Severson

Comment