Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

6 volt? 12 volt? Cotton insulated wiring?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6 volt? 12 volt? Cotton insulated wiring?

There's more than one way to skin a cat; or flog a horse for that matter!

Here's my story of my second 53 CK Stude, pictured here, and its 6 volt - 12 volt electrical system.

Click image for larger version

Name:	53 Stude cropped.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	71.2 KB
ID:	1753656

I bought the car when I was a student at UT in Austin, Texas. I had been working a part time job while I was in school and bought the car from the original owner in the late 60s, for the premium price of $300.

It was my second 53. I had left the first in my mom's driveway in WV (driveway behind the 53 pictured above) when I left home. It was a bit rough looking. Mom got tired of the 53 in her driveway while I was gone and had it towed away. I was sad to hear it had to go. Mom apologized years later saying she "didn't realize it was a special car."

This second 53 made a couple of trips from TX to WV and back. I had been determined to keep it 6 volts and pretty original although I did make the swap from auto trans to a 3 spd OD I got out of a 54 sedan in a junkyard east of Austin.

On one trip back to WV the 6 volt system was giving me trouble and I couldn't get the correct voltage regulator or get the regulator repaired locally. The electrical system was having issues.

And it was time to make the 1200 mile trip back to Austin. I had an early GM 12 volt self regulated alternator (12SI I think) in my parts pile. I looked at the Stude generator manifold mount and thought I could bolt one of the ears of the GM alternator to the front of the bracket where the front mount of the Stude generator bolted on.