Decoding the VIN Number on a 1948 Studebaker Champion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Decoding the VIN Number on a 1948 Studebaker Champion

Hi, I would like to know if the 6 digit VIN on the 1948 Champions can be decoded like other more modern VINs on older vehicles. I was able to find an accurate decoder for my 1966 Ford Galaxie 500 XL Convertible and that helped a great deal with the accurate paint codes, the verification of the engine, determining production sequence, etc. - Is that possible on the 1948 Champions?

If so, can you please point me in the right direction?

I'm new to the world of Studebakers, so if this sounds like a newbie question...sorry, but it is!

Thanks for your help,
    Sergio
    Best Regards,
    Sergio
    1948 Champion Regal Deluxe

The serial # tells very little about the car. It will give you and idea of its place in the years production. One blessing of owning a Studebaker is that the Studebaker National Museum has the production order for your car and will, for a fee, send you a copy. It will tell you how your car was equipped when it left the factory.

https://studebakermuseum.org/archive...ur-studebaker/

I see in another you ask about accessory lists. There are catalogs of accessories for each year. Someone may post a picture of one for 1948.

Look over the SDC web site for much information and join the club to get our monthly magazine. I know there are active chapters of the club in Florida. Make contact with one and you can get a real introduction to the hobby.

Welcome aboard.
    Don Wilson, Centralia, WA

40 Champion 4 door*
    50 Champion 2 door*
    53 Commander K Auto*
    53 Commander K overdrive*
    55 President Speedster
    62 GT 4Speed*
    63 Avanti R1*
    64 Champ 1/2 ton

* Formerly owned

Comment

Welcome to the SDC and to the SDC Forum Sergio!

Sorry but as Don said, there is little info to be found in the Serial Numbers of 40's and 50's Cars and ALL Studebakers.