Moog CC655 coil springs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Frame / Springs: Moog CC655 coil springs

As some of you may know, the cargo coils that I have been recommending for over 20 years for the front of V8 Studebakers have now been discontinued. Moog used up the inventory and will not be reproducing them any longer. Their original application was for 86 - 93 front drive GM cars in the rear.
    I made some calls and found a few sets. Rare Parts 1-800-621-2005 has two sets left in stock. They are a different brand but the same spring.
    CC653 was intended for a little heavier GM car and it would work in Studebaker applications with high front weight. CC661 is a similar coil but a little shorter. It may need a spacer on top available from SI to work. If you find a retailer with dusty inventory, they still may have some CC655's out there.

Good luck searching

Jim
    james r pepper

Hard to believe but a a 93 is now almost considered for collector plates. Only needs a couple more years.

Comment

Just a little CASO comment on these springs. GM also offered variable rate spring as an option on the applicable cars mentioned above. Standard wound springs were the general offer. Since the Moog variable rate springs are "Cargo Carrier" they are of an increased spring rate over the stock rate in addition to a variable rate, and that increased rate aspect might be (and probably is) necessary for the V-8 Studebaker weight. However, for 6 cylinder cars and possibly those with Chevy V-8 engine trans swaps (my numbers show nearly a 200 pound drop for my 350 Chevy and a 700R4 swap) a set of the GM variable rate spring spring might work - and possibly better due to less weight.