How to fix '63 Lark Fuel Gauge

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Speedo / Tach / Gauges: How to fix '63 Lark Fuel Gauge

I was wondering if anyone knew of a step by step guide or video that could help me repair my '63 Studebaker Lark Fuel Gauge. I am new to Studebaker, but I have every intention of learning as much as I can to keep up my new beauty. Regardless of how much gas is in the tank, the needle on the gauge never moves. Any information or assistance would be greatly appreciated.Thanks!

Check the sending unit in the tank first to see if it's the problem. There's a round plate in the trunk floor over the sender. Take the wire from the top of the sender and, with the ignition key on, hold that wire to the tank or any good ground and see if the gauge moves. It's only a ground wire so don't worry about any sparks. It takes awhile, so just keep holding it for a couple minutes. If the gauge and wire are good the gauge will go to full. If it does, the problem is not the gauge, but probably the tank sender. Remove the screws holding the sender in and remove it. With it out, reconnect the wire to the top and put a jumper wire from the sender flange to a good ground. Move the lever up to see if the gauge will go to full or anywhere in between to see if it works. Again, the movement takes a little while, so be patient. Chances are the sender is bad.
    sigpic1966 Daytona (The First One)
    1950 Champion Convertible
    1950 Champion 4Dr
    1955 President 2 Dr Hardtop
    1957 Thunderbird

Comment

Yes,the sender would be the thing to check, but first check for any blown fuses, especially if the temp gauge is also not working, I believe they are on the same fuse, lots easier to replace than the sender.

Comment