Everything color - 54 Champion K

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Paint: Everything color - 54 Champion K

I still have a way to go until I have to deal with paint of my car's body etc. - but some parts like the engine might come up in a few weeks (months?).

I studied John Bridges' most helpful book, but some questions remain:

I am currently restoring a 54 Champion Hardtop. Its original color was saffron cream but it has been incorrectly painted dark brown 40 years ago.
    The original color is present underneath in most areas which makes it a lot easier.

I already figured that interior/dash etc. have been painted body color in 1954.

Am I correct that the fenders have not been painted inside (simple asphalt conservation over steal?). Or should those be in body color?

BTW: other than its original state I want to paint the upper/roof black (saffron cream / velvet black) - one option in 1954.

One major question: how do I paint the engine. There is one mention in Bridges' book that V8s have been olive green with black covers etc.
    What about the 6-cylinder?

From pictures I found online the engine block and oil pan should be green - also the engine head. Other parts black? Is that correct?
    What about the air intake / filter? I have seen red and black versions. I might stick to black - seems mine has always been black.

Thanks for every kind of help!

Besides Bridges' excellent book, use Fred Fox's Feature Article(s) in TW on the 1954 for information, such as colors.

I am not certain that I understand what you are referring to as "inside" the fenders. If you mean the inner fenders, next to the engine, they should be the lower body color. If you mean the part of the fender that is exposed to the wheel/tire, they should not receive finish paint. A coat of primer, possibly followed by sound deadening (undercoat).

The engine color is what I refer to as (old) 30 weight oil green. I use Packard engine green.