Can-O-Worms

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can-O-Worms

I have been wanting to replace the trunk pan on my GT from day one but the cash needed to pay someone to do the job always seems to go to higher priority needs. Then a few days ago the Harbor Freight catalog shows up with a 170 amp mig welder on sale for $169.95 and I start thinking that there's no reason that I can't do the job myself. Now I have never welding a thing in my life but I work in a shop with a bunch of guys that weld all day long to get tips from and we have all the equipment right there to practice with so why not.

So, then I get to thinking, well I got to put the GT up on jack stands and drop the gas tank so I might as well get that cleaned and lined while I'm at it. And when I cut the pan out I'll have lots of room to get at the leaf springs, which are shot anyway, so I might as well get them re sprung. With all that room to work with the springs, gas tank and trunk pan all out of the way its only logical to go ahead and replace all the bushings and add the rear sway bar for good measure. All of this doesn't even take into account the hidden stuff I'm bound to find once I get started. Once she's up on the stands there's no point in letter her down again until all the work is done so I guess she'll be off the road for most of the summer and into the fall. All of that from one Harbor Freight catalog.
    I'd rather be driving my Studebaker!

sigpic

It's a shame You can't enjoy this Summer/Fall driving. then put it up for a Winter Job
    Joseph R. Zeiger

Comment

Heck, might as well pull the body off the frame while you're there and, while it's easy to get at the motor and trans, might as well rebuild all that too, and then there's......... That's what happened to me, anyway. Beware of creeping restoration elegance..!

Comment