Drive Away Kit - Suggestions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drive Away Kit - Suggestions

I am anxiously awaiting my first full summer season with my 62GT that I bought last August. I am still getting to know the car but I fully intend on driving it as much as possible including some longer trips of 3 or 4 hours away from home. I know it would be wise to have a "drive away" kit with items that may come in handy should a break down occur away from home. I have a spare starter on the way and I know a set of belts would be useful but what do those of you seasoned folks carry with you when on the road? The car has Petronix ignition,Turner disc brakes, a Holley carb but still has the original generator and is otherwise stock. Has anyone put together a "check list" they use for longer trips? As a pilot I like check lists!
    Hoping to go to York so am putting together a wish list! Thanks all!

I carry extra bulbs for headlights, (I have halogen headlamps) tail/brake lights, spare fuse, water pump, front wheel bearing set, seals & grease mechanical R2 fuel pump, "U" joint set. Also I have an electric fuel pump with clip leads and some fuel hose & fittings in case I can't or don't want to replace the mech pump on the side of the road. For long trips I carry an extra alternator and a rear axle hub puller just in case. A multimeter is also a must. I have to admit, I've never had to use any of this stuff on a trip or tour, but I feel better having it. Maybe somebody else will need it, you never know when you get a bunch of old Studebakers together. Be sure to keep you battery charged with a float charger when not regularly driving your Hawk, it will save much wear & tear on the generator and charging system during starts after being parked for a while.

Comment

Kato.... 3 to 4 hours on a drive is nothing if you have prepared your car well...and it sounds like you are almost there.