Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Front Axle / Front Suspension: Front end swap on 58 transtar

FOREWORD: I am VERY NEW at this

I'm not there yet on restore but just thinking ahead and planning my attack. I have been reading a lot about a front end swap on classic trucks using a crown vic and haven't come across anything about doing it in c-cab. Pros/cons? possible? worthwhile? Just looking for any info at all, also, if not the crown vic is there a more suitable option.... any information will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
    D

Do a search on this forum for Ford Aerostar front clips on Stude Trucks. The Crown Vics may be too wide. Check the track specs on each.
    sals54

Comment

A lot of trouble for little gain. That Transtar front end is as good as beam front axles get. Plenty of mods to make them better, but if you want something different use a front clip off of a late 70's through 90's Toyota half ton with torsion bars.

Comment

Thank you gentlemen, reading on the Aerostar conversion now. Haven't made my mind up one way or the other, just wanting to gather info... Seems like the hassle will outweigh the benefits. Will likely keep the original front end and plan modifications (if any) from there.

Comment

Not sure what your motivations are/were, but (in case you didn't know) Turner Brake offers an excellent disc brake conversion kit for half-ton Stude trucks.
          Skip Lackie

Comment

Skip, I came across his product this week and I'm gonna go that route, decided against the IFS conversion... Gonna try To go as close to original as I can manage but will do the disc brake upgrade.

Comment