Ethanol reform rule

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ethanol reform rule

The EPA intends to take final action November 30, 2015 (two weeks away) to force a 15% ethanol in gasoline rule. As we all know this will drastically effect owners of older cars, motorcycles and ATV's. It is improbable that we can voice enough opposition to stop this out of control agency from mandating this rule but at least the SDC president should go on the record of opposing it on behalf of the membership and maybe others would follow.

Does anyone know if we will need to do anything different regarding fueling our older vehicles? Is there any additives available that might counter any negative effects of using 15% ethanol gasoline?
    Ed Sallia
    Dundee, OR

Sol Lucet Omnibus

Comment

Supposedly, using E15 in modern vehicles will void their warranties. I'm sure the automakers will be up in arms, too.
      Kindest regards,

Alan Mende
      Grantville, PA

I'm not a mechanic; I don't even play one on TV.

Comment

The easy answer is to look for a station that serves up non-ethanol fuel! Try to never fill your tank with EF unless you have more then half of a tank of the good stuff, and try not to store your car for long periods of time with EF in it.

Real zealots have been known to add water to EF with petcock on the bottom of their holding tank. This allows the water/ethanol mix, which is heaver then gasoline, to be drawn off once the solution has a chance to settle out. It's a simple process but one I doubt many of us would want to tackle this on a regular basis.

Comment

Originally posted by Hallabutt View Post
          The easy answer is to look for a station that serves up non-ethanol fuel! Try to never fill your tank with EF unless you have more then half of a tank of the good stuff, and try not to store your car for long periods of time with EF in it.