overdrive

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• overdrive

So Im in the process of converting from 6 volt to 12 volt and earlier someone brought up the point that I may need to get a new overdrive relay and solenoid for the 12 volts Im going to be running. Im a little embarrassed to ask but figure better now then realize I do or dont have what I need so here it goes.....How can I tell If I have overdrive or not??? I purchased the car not running and this is my first attempt at rebuilding a car. If I do need to get a new relay and solenoid, where should I begin my search and is it even necessary to run overdrive, Its just gonna be a cruiser for me. I have a 1949 champion 4 door sedan.

Overdrive is a much underrated blessing. Passing gear, (kick out of OD at 45 and go zooom) is great, loafing along at 70 with the engine just ticking over is pretty nice, too. These are things the people with 5 speed transmissions don't get, at least not without moving a gear shift.

12 Volt overdrive down NOT use a relay, it takes power straight from the battery, (fused, of course).

How can I tell If I have overdrive or not??? Look at the transmission. does it appear to have a front section and a rear section? If so, it's OD. Does it have a beer can sized sheet metal thing sticking out from the joint between the two sections, then it's an OD. If both of these answers are No, then it's just a regular 3 spd transmission.

[img=left]http://www.alink.com/personal/tbredehoft/Bothcars3.jpg[/img=left]
    Tom Bredehoft
    '53 Commander Coupe
    '55 President State Sedan Project
    '60 Lark VI (Now on the market)
    '05 Legacy Ltd Wagon
    All Indiana built cars

Comment