Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I found a 56 commander in a barn...

I am the second owner of this car.
    She seems solid. I have yet to find any cancer. The motor is stuck, and I plan to pull it in a couple of weeks and work on it over the winter.
    I have zero experience with Studebakers, but had to have it the moment I saw it. I need some good resources to do research on things like correct hub caps, correct upholstery material, correct color to repaint the engine.
    Is there any studebaker experts near me in Tualatin, Oregon?

Welcome to our world! looks like a great find. 2dr sedans are hard to come by. this one belongs to my son-in-law,but he seems to have lost interest in it. It's a Champion and runs great. Good luck with it.
    Attached Files
    Neil Thornton

Comment

Congrats! The '56 sedans had appeal and were competitive (except no hardtop model ) with the big three and AMC.
      In fact, at our chapter's summer meet, with 60 or so cars and trucks of many years and models in the running including Hawks and Avantis, all the teens and young adults had a separate vote for their favourite. The winner turned out to be a '56 Commander Deluxe 4 door in Airforce Blue over Daybreak Blue!

Your car, when "done", will scoot pretty good with its 259 cube Stude V8, and is as reliable (perhaps more so) as any V8 of the era.

You'll find all kinds of help here in SDC and there are many active members in Oregon.

WELCOME!
      Roger Hill

60 Lark Vlll, hardtop, black/red, Power Kit, 3 spd. - "Juliette"
      61 Champ Deluxe, 6, black/red, o/d, long box. - "Jeri"
      Junior Wagon - "Junior"

"In the end, dear undertaker,
      Ride me in a Studebaker"

Comment

Oh I really like it. Nice find, you can have some fun with that one.

Comment

The Northwest Chapter is centered in Portland, OR and we are hosting the Pacific Can-Am Zone Meet in Kelso, WA August 28th - 30th, 2015. You should attend this major event. Info at www.sdc-nw.org

Comment