X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Windshield

Hi all,
    Newbie here again with a question.probably a dumb one too
    I have a 50 champion starlight with a broken one piece windshield.
    As I need to replace it would the two piece one fit instead ?
    As I quite like the look of the two piece, obviously I`ll need the center division pieces as well but is the two piece just flat glass?
    Just wondering if the two piece has a slight curve near the center ?
    Geoff
    Last edited by fiveftsix; 08-11-2015, 02:34 PM.

Nope! The two-piece windshield is two pieces of flat glass; cheaper to produce but more expensive to install. Replacing what was called the "bent" windshield with the two-piece flat version would require an inordinate amount of cowl and roof reconfiguration. Take the shortcut; buy a new one-piece windshield and gasket to match.
    Brad Johnson,
    SDC since 1975, ASC since 1990
    Pine Grove Mills, Pa.
    '33 Rockne 10, '51 Commander Starlight. '53 Commander Starlight
    '56 Sky Hawk in process

Comment

I don't know about the cars, but I had a friend who put a two piece In place of the bent glass in a truck with no problem. Just needed the division bar.
      Neil Thornton

Comment

I just can't imagine why anyone would want to replace a one piece windshield with a 2 piece. The one piece windshields are available and one would keep your Studebaker looking as is should.
        Just my 2 cents worth.
        Rog
        '59 Lark VI Regal Hardtop
        Smithtown,NY
        Recording Secretary, Long Island Studebaker Club

Comment

Thanks for all your replies guys.
          First off a new one piece would set me back somewhere around the $350 mark.
          Secondly I like the idea of the two piece, reason being it looks more like a plane cockpit windshield.
          And lastly if it gets broken in the future it would only be one side that won`t cost an arm or a leg to replace if it is just flat glass.
          Rockne