New person and have a few questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Other: New person and have a few questions

Hello, I'm new to Studebakers (still don't have one, but looking) but not new to old cars. I have some stockers and some hot rods, all pre '64. I've built or restored most of them myself and now I'm looking for a '59-'61 Lark 2dr wagon to get the girlfriend off the smog radar here (Orange county, Ca.). I've been reading up on these and have a few questions, mainly what's the difference in the wagons between the 6 cyl and V8. Say both 2dr and both a 1959 (or if anyone wants to add up to '61 and 4dr that would be great also). I've read that's there's a difference on the 2 and 4 dr cars but it's not too clear about the wagons.

Thanks for any help.

Dan

First off, welcome to the forum ! All Lark wagons share the same 113" wheelbase. Rear quarter panels on wagons are welded units while the other models have bolted on panels. On most other models the thickness of the frame itself varies but I'd have to check the service manual on that point. 1963 and later Wagonaire wagons have the large X member and weights on the front end panel like convertibles.

I bought a 59 2 door wagon this past November. It was a 6 cylinder, 3 speed overdrive that came with a (weak) Dana 23 rear end. It did not have a front sway bar, the brakes are smaller (10 inch front/9 inch rear) & the springs are softer, especially the fronts. So far I have upgraded the rear end to a Dana 44 with flanged axles from a 66 parts car, changed the front brakes to disc brakes (Jim Turner kit) installed power steering from a 63 Cruiser along with all new hoses, Delrin control arm bushings up front, NOS H.D. shocks in the rear and replaced the front floor (cut out from another parts car) from the toeboard to in front of the rear seat bottom. I am also installing a 1" front sway bar from an 84 Olds Cutlass.