PDA

View Full Version : Engine: Engine identification, 259?

kustommusic
05-19-2015, 09:03 PM
Hello fellow SDC members, Newbie here with some questions. I have a '62 Lark with a (?) 259 in it. But there are no numbers on the pad. I'm told it is a replacement engine, but without any identification how do I tell?:confused: I would also like to verify the cubic inches (without a tear down).
One last question; My Lark has the two speed auto trans. and I would like to service the transmission, What type of ATF is recommended?

bezhawk
05-19-2015, 09:21 PM
Pull a spark plug, and put a long screwdriver in the hole. Turn over the engine and note when it bottoms out. If it is 3.5" stroke then you have the two fifty nine.
If it's longer, then its a larger engine.
Type "F" fluid is used in the "3" speed automatic. Studebaker never used a 2 speed auto [except for the 56 Golden Hawk with the Packard ?Ultramatic.
If you notice the quadrant has a "L" on the indicator. Start out in this, upshift to d, and the transmission will then shift to 2nd, and then high gear.
You may be confused, because in "D" the car starts out in 2nd, and make the one shift to high.

StudeRich
05-19-2015, 09:31 PM
Since the Studebaker Borg Warner Flight-O-Matic Transmissions are very similar to Ford-O-Matics, I prefer the recommended fluid for them the Type "F" or "FA", the Dexron II, III or whatever will also work with more of a slip shift than the "Firm" shift of the Type F.

Your Trans. is a THREE Speed! You simply have to use "L" to get Low, it can be manually shifted by starting in L, when "wound out" in Low 25-30 MPH, shift to D, Pull it right back to L to lock Second, holding Pedal to the floor, and shift to D at 60-70 or your choice speed. :!: