PDA

View Full Version : Paint Mask/Respirator Suggestions

Studebaker1965
04-02-2015, 07:26 PM
Hi all,

I'm looking at paint respirators and I need some advice. I'm a back-yard painter. We have a small booth in our barn/garage that we paint in from time to time. Anyhow, I'd like a respirator that also covers my face/eyes. The Eastwood company has a respirator that is NIOSH-approved and filters 95% of airborne particles, it says. Not sure what I should get. With painting acrylic enamals, etc, I'm concerned about isocyanates in the hardeners. Any advice from more experienced painters would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Nate

jclary
04-02-2015, 07:50 PM
Look at Bullard, Sata, or anyone that offers a "supplied air respirator system." During my career, I sold them all. Unless something has changed, in the past few years, there is no mask certified to filter isocyanate particulate. Iso. is not even supposed to contact your skin. Therefore, a supplied air respirator system is touted as the only true safe method of protection when such chemicals are being used.

Don't be intimidated by the hype or initial complexity of the systems or terminology. They are really fairly simple. You can buy some fairly economical single mask units. They should work with almost any disposable Tyvek coveralls. You'd just need a hooded mask, and gloves to complete the uniform. If your coveralls don't have elastic cuffs, just use rubber bands.

The carbon canister masks are fine for sanding dust, regular enamels, etc. But, add ISO and you need better protection.

Or...in your back yard...always spray down-wind.;)

wdills
04-03-2015, 07:06 PM