R-3 Avanti

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• R-3 Avanti

I zipped down to the Goodguys meet in Pleasanton Ca. this weekend and was in heaven, there were so many nice cars there. One Avanti caught my eye and upon further inspection, it appears to be an original R-3, Don't know how many of these were made but, this is my first time actually seeing one in person--- gotta be pretty rare?
    Attached Files
    sigpic

I believe there were 9 originally. At least, that's what I was told years ago.
    "In the heart of Arkansas."
    Searcy, Arkansas
    1952 Commander 2 door. Really fine 259.
    1952 2R pickup

Comment

The experts will be here soon, but at first glance looks like a custom R2 with an R3 airbox.

jack vines
      PackardV8

Comment

R-3 air box does not make it a R-3 original, should have looked at the engine number, number should have looked something like this

This one is for sale and comes with a very nice 52 Starlite coupe.
        Candbstudebakers
        Castro Valley,
        California

Comment

R-3 Avanti

I posted these pictures in the general discussion, after a little research, it appears that there were only 9 of these produced, I have been around Studebaker's quite a few years and have never seen one ---so I posted it here also for everyone to drool over! (I certainly did)
          Attached Files
          sigpic

Comment

I always thought the easest way to spot an original R3, IIRC from what Jon Myer told me is that the air filter was mounted in front and at the bottom of the radiator and piped up to the supercharger by cutting a hole thur the inner fender well near the intake of the "SC". See photo.

Click image for larger version

Name:	studebaker-avanti-r3-03.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	41.0 KB
ID:	1692786

Comment

you guys got me here, I'm certainly not an authority on R-3'S, I was just going on the info from the owner. He stated he bought it from the "original little old lady." It was surely nice in any event!