My 1st Studebaker lark

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My 1st Studebaker lark

Hello all I recently traded some items for a 1961 Studebaker lark v8 259 3 od with a lot of problems the car was sitting for almost 30 years but is all original with minor rust I'm new to the world of studebaker but would like to redo this old machine .

The motor is seized from sitting without proper care . I've soaked the motor in all kinds of solutions to break it free with out success. I'm not in a hurry to distroy this engine so I've been rocking it back and forth trying to free it I was told to hook a strap to it put the car in third gear and pop the clutch I'm just worried about breaking and bending rods or worse .

my goal is to get the car running and driving to enjoy it for the studebaker she really is I don't want a belly button in my studebaker

I've been reading a lot on these forums but this is my first time posting thank you in advance
    "trying to save them from the crusher one at a time"

Do not do that!

Sure fire way to break something. Ask me how I know!

Pull the heads and see what's going on. Usually there is only one or two stuck. Also check the bell housing. I had a mouse nest in one once that was so jammed in that it seemed the engine was "stuck"
    1962 Champ

51 Commander 4 door

Comment

My 259 was run dry of oil, stuck solid, then frozen. Once out and taken apart, we had the block tanked and fluxed. It passed inspection, I bought a complete rebuild kit and it's been fine for the last 5000 miles. Good luck.
      Dave Warren (Perry Mason by day, Perry Como by night)

Comment

Welcome to the forum.

I've been around Studebakers off and on for 40 years. Its been a love/hate/Love/tolerate/love kind of thing..

Any pictures yet? 2/4 door?

As for your dilemma, its hard to say why the engine froze in the first place. Could be rusty cylinder walls. cracked block, bad bearings.. etc..