TT Rear Axle Visual Identification

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rear Axle: TT Rear Axle Visual Identification

How can I identify a Twin Traction rear axle if it's out of the car? Were TT's available in the '59-'60 Larks?

Thanks for any help. I'm new to the Stude's.

There may be a tag on one of the cover bolts that says 45 followed by(A, B or C). Also remove the filler plug and insert a finger into the hole. If you can insert it a long was before hitting the carrier, then it's probably an open carrier. If you hit an obstruction (carrier) not very far in then you have a twin traction as the unit fills the case much more.
    Bez Auto Alchemy
    573-318-8948
    http://bezautoalchemy.com

"Don't believe every internet quote" Abe Lincoln

Comment

Also turning a Drum usually turns the opposite one the same direction on a TT, where a Open one will go the opposite direction.
      StudeRich
      Second Generation Stude Driver,
      Proud '54 Starliner Owner
      SDC Member Since 1967

Comment

For the second question - yes.
        Gary L.
        Wappinger, NY

SDC member since 1968
        Studebaker enthusiast much longer

Comment

Mine says 45D

Comment

Sweet -

To answer your question.
            The easiest and most positive way is to just remove the housing cover. With the cover up/pinion down, remove the cover.

A posi unit will be a big round, with squared off corners, mostly machined "drum" if you will. You can look into the "drum" or carrier and see the clutch plates. You'll be able to see the cross shaft and only two spider gears. The other two are hidden within the 2 clutch packs, one on each side.

An "open" (non-posi) carrier will be an addly shaped carrier that is almost all...as cast surface. When you look into the large openings in this carrier, you'll be able to see the four spider gears and a cross shaft.

And yes, early Larks have positraction units. My 59 wagon has one.

Hope this helps.

Mike

Comment