I'm new to this and please excuse my bumbles

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm new to this and please excuse my bumbles

I have been involved with old cars all my life ,mostly with model a fords. I recently bought a 1930 studebaker 4 dr sedan. I was told it is a commander model. It has only 2 side windows per side ,not three. It has a top insert that comes back to about 18" from the rear of the car. Does anyone know if this is indeed a commander? or what the numberical designation is? thanks a bunch

Hi and welcome! The short answer is that it could be a Commander or a President since they both had that kind of body. I don't have numerical designations handy, but I'm sure others will give you more information.
    "Madness...is the exception in individuals, but the rule in groups" - Nietzsche.

Comment

Check the small plate attached to the engine side of the firewall. It will have some letters and numbers. Post those letters and numbers and I can tell you exactly what you have.
      Richard Quinn
      Editor emeritus: Antique Studebaker Review

Comment

welcome aboard!

i'm sure some folks will be here shortly to provide answers. in the meantime, check and record your body tag number info - i think it should be on your passenger side firewall, if it is like my '40. the serial number (aka: VIN #) would also be helpful.

and here's a link to the Antique Studebaker Forum: http://forums.aaca.org/f126/

good luck, and have fun with her!!!
        Kerry. SDC Member #A012596W. ENCSDC member.

'51 Champion Business Coupe - (Tom's Car). Purchased 11/2012.

'40 Champion. sold 10/11. '63 Avanti R-1384. sold 12/10.

Comment

thanks guys , I haven't picked the car up yet. It is in ark. I had three friends go look at the car and drive it for me. I will be picking it up arounf the first of the month.

Comment