PDA

View Full Version : What did I just buy?

Patrick
01-16-2014, 01:31 PM
It's a 1955 Studebaker Champion, 4dr, not a hardtop. Can you tell me what trim level or the exact model type from the pictures? I'm new to Studebakers so any advice on how to proceed getting it back on the road would be welcome.

http://forum.studebakerdriversclub.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=31429&d=1389895091

http://forum.studebakerdriversclub.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=31431&d=1389895129

http://forum.studebakerdriversclub.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=31430&d=1389895107

8E45E
01-16-2014, 01:48 PM
Does the firewall tag read '16G W5'? If so, you have an early 1955 Champion Regal Deluxe four door sedan.

Craig

Patrick
01-16-2014, 02:01 PM
Does the firewall tag read '16G W5'? If so, you have an early 1955 Champion Regal Deluxe four door sedan.

Craig

Thanks, I'll check that as soon as it's home.

StudeRich
01-16-2014, 02:18 PM
The Early '55 Sedans/Wagons like yours have a "Straight" Windshield (curved), not a Wraparound like a late '55.

It appears that it may have the 3 Speed Manual Trans. You will want to check and see if there is a Chrome "T" Handle under the Left side of the dash stamped O.D. meaning you have the much more desirable Borg Warner R-10 Overdrive equipped T-96 Trans.

The front seat looks like a 60/40 split Seat from a GM? car.

31432 A Late '55 2 Door sedan with the Wraparound Windshield.

57pack
01-16-2014, 02:30 PM
Beautiful car, lots of potential there. Good luck with her,:!:

warrlaw1
01-16-2014, 02:35 PM
Now that's a sweet car, and like Rich said, an early 55. I love the two tone paint scheme.

Patrick
01-16-2014, 02:51 PM

That's not good, the car is vintage plated so I thought it would be mostly original. If the seats aren't original then that is a little bit of a bummer.

55s
01-16-2014, 02:56 PM
The front seats can be easily changed back to original, but may have to be reupholstered. Nice car!

LarkTruck
[QUOTE=StudeRich;813630]