best method of swapping front springs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Frame / Springs: best method of swapping front springs

Looking for opinions on the best way to swap springs. The '63 below has ridiculously shot front springs. They actually have expansion spacers in them, and even with that, if I sit on the front fender of the car, it makes contact with the tire. (Okay, I'm a fairly big guy, but still...)

So I have taken the sage recommendations of many here and ordered a pair of the Moog CC655's, which should be arriving on Friday.

That said, what is the easiest method of swapping the springs? I am a man of limited time, and while I will be sure to not rush myself, if there's a 2 hour and a 6 hour method to do the task, I really need to do the 2 hour method.

Thanks!
    '63 Lark Custom, 259 v8, auto, child seat

"Your friendly neighborhood Studebaker evangelist"

I'm no professional, but this is how I have done it.
    I have an old (huge) floor jack that I got from my Dad. I jack up the front of the car and put jack stands under the frame just behind the A frames.