New Studebaker Owner - 1956 Transtar 2E28

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Studebaker Owner - 1956 Transtar 2E28

Hello, Im a new Studebaker owner. I just recently acquired my great uncles 1956 Transtar 2E28 farm truck with a 259 V8. The truck was used to haul sunflower seeds, wheat, and other grain to the elevators in town for nearly 50 years. My family has owned lots of Studebakers over the years and I'm really glad to be able to keep this one in the family.

So far I love the truck. When I brought it home, it had a 12ft dump box with a roll cover that my uncle had built himself. The box had seen better days, so I removed it and kept just the flat bed for now. The truck rides much better without the box anyways.

I'm new to Studebakers but not new to old cars and trucks. I've read through the other post about lead substitute and additives, etc. My question is, what should I be running for fuel in this truck? Uncle told me the octane didn't really matter and he always used lead additives/substitutes. But, I was able to find 110 octane gas (with lead) locally and added 5 gals to the tank which had probably 5 gals of regular octane gas+lead substitute. When I started it today and let it run in the driveway for a few minutes, smoke started coming out from near the valve covers. I shut it off immediately. Wondering if the higher octane is burning off whatever may have been building up over the years. The truck was hardly ran over the last few years, mainly sat in a barn, once a month would be a stretch I think.

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance for the help.

- Bobo

You may be right. If it's been sitting for years, it might be cooking off old crud. Check the valve covers for leaks, it's not uncommon for old gaskets to dry up and start to drip on the exhaust manifolds. We all like pics if you can.

Brian

Comment