Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

which trans is your favorite? BW T-10, BW T-86, or I guess FOM.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• which trans is your favorite? BW T-10, BW T-86, or I guess FOM.

I originally wanted a four on the floor if I was gonna build a car myself. But after reading the good stuff about the BW 3 speeds I was thinking, good trans, way cheaper hmm. But I found a good deal on a four speed, that I can afford and I'm starting to think, settle in other departments not in your drive train! But would a three speed be settling. I have no experience with either trans so I'm not sure. Is worth double to even more for a four on the floor? It seems like it might just be. I want it to be a hot rod.
    This is mostly to see what you people prefer with a poll. And why you prefer what you do.
    Option 1. BW T86 OD or even just the three speeds in general. But that one in general.

Option 2. BW T10 nothing fancy just the good old factory four speed of 61-64

Option 3. FOM automatic I guess the standard version since I have hope of or interest in finding a power-shift. If you like the power-shift best vote auto, and specify. I left this option in for those like autos best, but this thread is mostly for the manuals.
    BW T-10
    40.00%
    BW T-86 OD
    52.00%
    FOM or other stock auto
    8.00%

I vote for the BW T-10......They work great in hotrods!

Comment

I actually setup a poll so I can count how many people prefer what. So feel free to vote!

Comment

I've only taken a few short test drives in my Lark as it is nearly done. It has the FOM (not powershift). It seems like it's wound a little tight with the automatic and the 4.10 rear end. I get up to 45-50 mph and I want it to shift one more time but it doesn't. I can't imagine how it with be at highway speeds. I guess, to answer your question, It might depend on what gear ratio you rear end has as to what transmission will serve you best.

Comment