Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Member - '55 Studebaker E5

Hello,

I just recently picked up a 1955 Studebaker E5 truck to work on. It was was originally a straight six but now has what I am told is a '63 Studebaker V8. I still need to get the engine #'s and verify exactly what it is. I'm just getting started and wanted to see if anyone knows a good source for parts. I've wanted an old truck for quite some time now and am excited to begin working on this one. The Studebakers, in my opinion, are the best looking trucks from this era. Any help is appreciated! Thanks.

Click image for larger version

Name:	driverside.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	167.5 KB
ID:	1740195Click image for larger version

Name:	passrear.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	145.3 KB
ID:	1740196Click image for larger version

Name:	front.jpg
Size:	170.6 KB
ID:	1740197Click image for larger version

Name:	engine_1.jpg
Size:	124.2 KB
ID:	1740198

- Jason

Hey Jason,

Welcome! I don't know if this is your first Stude or not, but if it is, talk about starting out on the right foot! That is indeed a 63-64 engine. This link can help you find and decode your engine serial number, so you can know exactly what it came from.

As far as parts go, there is a vast array of vendors who post on these forums. I think a few are even right in your neck of the woods. Studebaker International has a lot of NOS parts, and some reproduction/aftermarket parts. The Studebaker Swap page is a revolving classified ads page for Studebaker enthusiasts selling or looking for parts. Studebaker Vendors is sort of a portal to a bunch of parts vendors and suppliers. There are another million or so places I could send you, but that's a good start. Ask around here, too. The folks here are helpful. I got a great carburetor and a few odds and ends from fellow forum members.