1960 Lark 4-door

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1960 Lark 4-door

Help!! My son and me are working on a 1960 Lark w/ 170 ci flathead w/OD. Runs like a top! I started with the brakes and noticed a disturbing bit of info. It has standard brakes (NO power anything) and the original repair guide list only power brakes. There isn't one section on standard brakes. The actuator/cylinder is mounted on the frame. I found it and noticed the rubber grommet end is cracked. My question is does anyone out there have this issue? Thanks in advance!

My '59 Lark VI has standard brakes. I got my master cylinder from Studebaker International. Yes, the master cylinder is mounted under the floorboard. I envy those Stude owners of later years who have the master mounted on the firewall.
    Rog
    '59 Lark VI Regal Hardtop
    Smithtown,NY
    Recording Secretary, Long Island Studebaker Club

Comment

Might you be talking of the rubber boot that is ribbed looking that is in place to keep out moisture and dirt from the plunger side{input} of the master cylinder. If so. the rebuild kit will include this rubber. Also a new master cylinder is availabe from just about any Stude vendor or auto parts store. A new cylinder will come with the boot. That is my preferred method if you want good safe braking, start with a new master cylinder that should last for years. Get new wheel cylinders while your shopping. jimmijim.
      sigpicAnything worth doing deserves your best shot. Do it right the first time. When you're done you will know it. { I'm just the guy who thinks he knows everything, my buddy is the guy who knows everything.} cheers jimmijim*****SDC***** member

Comment

Mitchell,

Power brakes were an option. It is not unusual to see non-power brakes on a Studebaker. In fact, I prefer them.
        Paul
        Winston-Salem, NC
        Visit The Studebaker Skytop Registry website at: www.studebakerskytop.com