Holy Cow, I Did It!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Holy Cow, I Did It!

Please forgive me for bragging a little, but I just swapped out carburetors all by myself! I realize an experienced mechanic can do it in 30 minutes, but being a complete newbie at this stuff, I get credit for being slow and methodical, even if it took half a day. Car runs way, way better. Let's see, what can I take apart now....
    Sue

Great job sue!

Did you swap it for a similar carb, or did you do an upgrade? I have a shiny new 4 barrel carb and intake sitting on my workbench, just waiting for a day when I can get my worn out old 2 barrel outta there.
    '63 Lark Custom, 259 v8, auto, child seat

"Your friendly neighborhood Studebaker evangelist"

Comment

I did a straight swap with identical Stomberg 2 barrels.
      Sue

Comment

Good job Sue! Learn by doing.......that's how most of us learned too.
        Paul
        Winston-Salem, NC
        Visit The Studebaker Skytop Registry website at: www.studebakerskytop.com
        Check out my YouTube channel here: https://www.youtube.com/user/r1lark

Comment

Excellent! Now show off that work and post up a picture!

Dave Nevin
          Corvallis, OR
          1953 Champion Deluxe Coupe
          Stud-e-venture blog

Comment

Good job. You should be proud of the accomplishment. Do you know how many 19 year old boys (I struggle to say men) I see standing at the side of the road while the older, late 50's guy from AAA changes the tire? Too many. No telling what you might tackle next!

BTW, I put the rear quarter trim on my car a while ago. Every time I see it it reminds me of the nice woman in Maine who got it for me.

Regards, Tom
            '64 Lark Type, powered by '85 Corvette L-98 (carburetor), 700R4, - CASO to the Max.

Comment

Excellent, you are entitled to a little bragging. So what's next?
              Pat Dilling
              Olivehurst, CA
              Custom '53 Starlight aka STU COOL